Hello world!

So, I’ve decided to start a proper blog. I’ve tried to blog before but they all fell victim to a need to “do it right” and stay “appropriate”.  Being a somewhat neurotic A-type personality, I spent a lot of time researching how to blog. I read up on all the rules about not confusing your readership by intermixing personal posts on your business blog. At the time, I was defined by my photography and really trying to keep my business afloat. Therefore, I was only blogging about those topics. In the meantime, I was struggling to find inspiration as all of my work focused on what would bring in money.

I eventually gave up trying to blog as the stress of trying to find appropriate topics was proving more traumatic than just doing without. I moved my blog to image based Tumblr. At the time this seemed like a great idea. I could post just a simple image and it would automatically post to my Twitter and Facebook Fan page. But even that has become a point of stress as I discovered that there were things that I wanted to reblog or make comments on that did not fit into the “this is a business” box.

A few months ago I had to realize that my frustration with how my business was going was adding to the impeding failure. Who can come up with creative ideas when they are constantly stressed about the commercial value of every move?  I decided to go back to work as an office professional and put my photography back on ‘hobby’ status. I maintained the business license to keep the insurance separate as I continue to work with models and create commercial stock work.

This was a big step for me as I have lived a very boxed in life. I was defined as a photographer, or a mother, or a wife/spouse. Not only was I defined by these titles but I also put everything into being perfect as those people – at least as far as the public knew.  Never was I just me. Every aspect of my life had its own box. I’m breaking out of the box. I changed my Facebook Fan page from a business page to an artist page. By doing this I have started to admit to myself that my life doesn’t have to revolve around being just a photographer, or a mum, or a wife.

From this point forward I will just be me on this blog. An office professional and freelance photographer, wife to a Native and mum to the Spawn – along with my other hobbies and interests. If you’ve gotten to this point in this post then I invite you to follow me as I discover how figure out life outside of the box.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’m really enjoying your blog, Azure. I found it today via LinkedIn. Just like you, I started my blog around the same time. It was a huge endeavor, as I have 4 kids ages 19-14! It’s been in limbo over the summer, though (huge disappointment for me not to be able to keep it up), since the kiddoes are all home (ugh!). But I’m hoping to pick it back up again ASAP (especially since 2 other sites have contacted me and asked me to be a guest designer) (which, btw, I have NO idea how I’m going to do that – there is NO time!). Anyway, with 4 kids I’ve been through so many of your experiences, so I really can relate to your posts! Great job, and I’ll be following via e-mail!

    Reply
  2. Oops – correction – the kids ages are 10-14 (not 19-14!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

